Skip to main content

Hi Everyone

I am new to this software and forum. I have been converting ECW files to either TIFF or KML, with the ultimate aim of overlaying these images in Google Earth. I can get the TIFF's I generate to open in MAPINFO or picture viewer, but not in Google earth. Also my KML files that I generate don't open in Google earth. I just get error messages. Help please..

Kelvin

Hi @geologyrocksme,

What kind of error has your KML?

Thanks,

Danilo

@geologyrocksme, can you please attach one of your KML files and/or the error messages you are receiving from Google Earth? A screenshot of your current workspace might be helpful as well.

Courtney

@geologyrocksme, can you please attach one of your KML files and/or the error messages you are receiving from Google Earth? A screenshot of your current workspace might be helpful as well.

Courtney

Hi @courtney_m, we sent at same time the message... :)

Hi @courtney_m, we sent at same time the message... :)

Great minds think alike. 🙂
Great minds think alike. :-)
Yes 🙂

@geologyrocksme, when I tried opening your sample KML file in Google Earth, I got the following error:

So the KML file requires access to the TIFF specified on the left side of the dialog, but, since I do not have that file, the KML fails to open properly. Have you verified that you have the TIFF with the exact path name listed in your error message?

Courtney

Hello, I have tried multiple times without success. When I use 'open file" in Google earth I get the image above, but when I go to "add image overlay" I get the big red cross appear on Google earth. Why?

I have added screenshots of my steps involved in creating the step-1.jpgstep-2.jpgstep-3.jpgmages

Hello, I have tried multiple times without success. When I use 'open file" in Google earth I get the image above, but when I go to "add image overlay" I get the big red cross appear on Google earth. Why?

Hi @geologyrocksme,

I saw your images now and i did understand your problem.