Skip to main content
Hello,

I am new to FME, recently started to work on FME Desktop 2014. I am looking to convert any format to CSV. My requirement is to deposite output CSV to same input folder.

e.g. If user selects c:\\temp\\test.shp then test.csv should be written to c:\\temp\\folder.

Currently I am able to convert the file but I am not able to set output path same as input path.

I am not sure how to achieve this.Any pointers in the right direction will be appreciated.

Regards,

john
Hi,

Your input shapefiles have a parameter $(SourceDataset_SHAPE) (see navigator panel)

If u create a attribute directory_out or something after parsing it from this parameter.

Or you can use a driectory and filename reader. To  do samish.
Thanks for your reply.

I can create directory_out attribute but how to assign it to DestDataset macro so that it will create csv in that folder.
Ah, i see.

create a scripted parameter (in my picture $out).

In the stringeditor of this scripted parameter you can make a link to the Sourcedataset.

You can extract the path in this editor, using regularexpression.

Then edit the parameter of the DestDataset_SHAPE and link it to the created parameter

Hi John,

Agree with Gio on defining a scripted parameter.

I'll give an example. A Scripted (Tcl) Parameter with this script provides the directory path of the source dataset.

-----

return tfile dirname $FME_MacroValues(SourceDataset_SHAPE)]

-----

Just be aware that this example is valid only when SourceDataset_SHAPE represents a single file path.

Takashi
another note i forgot to mention.

The definition of the $out parameter must be done prior to the referencing of this $out parameter.

This order you can set in the paramter section in the navigator panel, you can drag one above the other
alternatively, you can also change type of DestDataset_SHAPE parameter to "Scripted (Tcl)" and then define a script directly for the parameter 😉
with Takashi's tcl script it looks like this: