Skip to main content
I have built an FME workbench that translates Ordnance Survey's MasterMap Topographic layer into MapInfo Professional TAB format.

Most features translate fine (once you get passed the line style issue with the MapInfoStyler transformer!) but I am having particular issues with the CartographicText feature type.

The GML format that Ordnance Survey provide their product in contains an attribute to set the anchorPosition of the text but I cannot get this to be recognised by MapInfo Professional at all.  I originally thought that using AttributeCreator to set the mapinfo_text_justification might do it but this just sets the justification within a block of text, not the original anchor position.

I'm pretty new to FME so there might well be something I'm missing but after having tried a number of different transformers I'm getting the feeling that it might be a limitation of MapInfo Professional and not FME.

Does anybody have any bright ideas?
Hi Darren,

Have you tried the LabelPointReplacer transformer?

Takashi
Hi Takashi,

Yes, I've tried that one, unfortunately it only allows for the setting of the text height and rotation.  What I need is something that enables me to either;

- create the text within FME and be able to set the position of the text relative to the geographic point, or

- create a MapInfo specific format attribute that enables me to set the position of the text in a similar manner.

For example, at the moment I am using attribute creator to set the following (MapInfo interprets these);

- mapinfo_text_string

- mapinfo_text_height

- mapinfo_text_fontbgcolor

- mapinfo_text_fontfgcolor

- mapinfo_text_fontname

- mapinfo_rotation

- mapinfo_type

Does anybody know of any additional format attributes that I could add to give me control over the position of the text?

Many thanks

Darren
Hi Darren,