Skip to main content

I am totally new to FME.

I would like to merge all the shapefiles located in the all the folders called 2012. Any ideas how to do it?

It depends :)

• Are all shapes the same geometrytype? Points, lines or Polygons. Because if it is mixed, something need to be done to output the different geometries as shape can have only one geometrytpe. (Create an attribute for geometrytype and do a group by this attribute.)
  • Does the input have attributes? Have all datasets the same attributes? Because if it is mixed, you need to do something to combine all these attributeschema’s. (SchemaScanner to generate schemafeature per geometrytype.)
  • Are all shapes in the same coordinate system? Because they need to be in the same system to be merged. Can be done using a Reprojector.

Hello, are the shapefiles always the same amount of folders deep? You can chain a couple of FeatureReaders set to Directory and File Pathnames. 

FeatureReader 1 reads Directory and returns Dir 1 and Dir 2 paths, FeatureReader 2 reads Dir 1 and Dir 2 and returns the 6 subfolders, et cetera. The last FeatureReader is set to Shapefile.

With Testers in between the FeatureReaders you can e.g. implement checks to exclude non-shapefiles, or direct the correct .shp paths to the final SHP FeatureReader.

• Are all shapes the same geometrytype? Points, lines or Polygons. Because if it is mixed, something need to be done to output the different geometries as shape can have only one geometrytpe. (Create an attribute for geometrytype and do a group by this attribute.)
  • Does the input have attributes? Have all datasets the same attributes? Because if it is mixed, you need to do something to combine all these attributeschema’s. (SchemaScanner to generate schemafeature per geometrytype.)
  • Are all shapes in the same coordinate system? Because they need to be in the same system to be merged. Can be done using a Reprojector.

One way to do this:

• Creator to initiate process.