Skip to main content

Dear Sirs,

I would like to extract elevation from a KMT or KMZ file from Google Earth! to use them in Autodesk Civil 3D (to DWG file).

Is that possible? I was looking and reading about the Google files inside the FME Knowledge center, but I couldn't find any topics which lead to the answer to my question!

I am very new to FME and this is my first time to use FME. I hope someone can help me with it. Thank you so much for your attention and your help.

Wishing you a wonderful day.

Kindly regards

Salwan Abbosh

Hi @salwan

I believe thatyou can use the transformer CoordinateExtractor:

Parameters:

This transformer generate attributes: x,y and z.

Thanks,

Danilo

Dear Danilo,

Thank you so so much for your response. I will follow your steps and I believe I will be on the right track.

Again very appreciate your help.

Have a nice day

Kindly regards

Salwan Abbosh

Dear Danilo,

Thank you so so much for your response. I will follow your steps and I believe I will be on the right track.

Again very appreciate your help.

Have a nice day

Kindly regards

Salwan Abbosh

Excellent @salman

Have you a nice day too

Dear Danilo,

I am afraid I need some help (my apology for disturbing you). I have done the following:

I have saved a selected area (using polygon) in google earth

I saved the file as KMZ ( the size of the file was very small about 657byets)

I created a new reader, I attached the google file to it with the needed coordinate system to the reader

The file contains NO Z value!

What am willing to realize, is to strip all the Z value from a large area on google earth

But it seems for me unclear how to put this issue together. I am very new for FME and this is my first use

I hope that you have some tips to manage that

Thank you so much for your help

Kindly regards

Salwan

Dear Danilo,

I am afraid I need some help (my apology for disturbing you). I have done the following: