Skip to main content

Hi there,

I'm still a bit new to FME so this might be dumb question. Sorry for that.

What I'm trying to do is read a CSV file which contains X and Y fields and then after a few transformations write to an Esri Geodatabase (Postgresql with SDE).

First I've set my reader as described in 1st Method here.

Now at the end of my workbench I wonder what to do so that the ArcSde Geodb writer writes the Geometry point to an attribute named Shape (of type st_geometry) which is not in the csv ? Do I need to add this field in an AttributeManager ? If so what should the value be ?

Thanks in advance.

Hello @letoff, if your workspace is creating the points as suggested the linked document, you just need to send the data to the Esri Geodatabase Writer. The SDE option is greyed out in the screenshot below as we don't have the ESRI version of FME.

Or use a FeatureWriter but you will still need the appropriate version of FME.

You might need to use a VertexCreator to tell FME which fields in the CSV contain the actual X/Y coordinates.

You do not explicitly need to create the SHAPE field, FME will do it for you and it also automatically writes the geometry there.

Simply create the Geodatabase Writer and specify and specify the output feature type to be a point.

You might need to use a VertexCreator to tell FME which fields in the CSV contain the actual X/Y coordinates.

Thanks for answering but since my CSV Reader has the coordinates columns identified I thought the VertexCreator was not mandatory as mentionned in the link I provided yesterday. (It's in methode 2 btw)

Hello @letoff, if your workspace is creating the points as suggested the linked document, you just need to send the data to the Esri Geodatabase Writer. The SDE option is greyed out in the screenshot below as we don't have the ESRI version of FME.

Or use a FeatureWriter but you will still need the appropriate version of FME.

Thanks for answering Dean,