Skip to main content

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner with CityGML and am currently trying to convert a dataset to CityGML 3 with generics extensions using FME Workbench. However, I am encountering a couple of issues:

1. Warning about inheritance relationship: The output gives a warning indicating no inheritance relationship. I have used AttributeMerge to add gml_parent_id, but the system does not seem to recognize it.

<GML_2 Writer> - '12482' orphaned features found, XML comments representing these features will be present in the output file: <!-- orphaned feature - parent id:'...', id:'...', type:'...' -->

1. Geometry export issue: It does not export correctly after setting up the geometry. In the Inspector, the data appears as a table without geometry.

Additionally, the original dataset exchenged in CityGML 3 standard, and its geometry's encoding is Name (encoded: UTF-16LE). Could this encoding be affecting the process?

My settings and the transformer export are shown below.

Hello @jennychu, are you able to share a copy of your workspace and the FME Form vesion it was created in? It might aslo be helpful if you’re able to share the source/input dataset. Happy to help, Kailin.

Hello @jennychu, are you able to share a copy of your workspace and the FME Form version it was created in? It might aslo be helpful if you’re able to share the source/input dataset. Happy to help, Kailin.

Hello @kailinatsafe Thank you very much for your reply.

Yes, in the attachment, you can find the workspace, demo dataset, and citygml 3 schemas. I want to insert some new generics attributes in the trafficArea with function =7. But after the transformations, the geometry disappears, and the gml_parent_id setting seems incorrect either. I must have missed something, but I don’t know where.

the FME workbench version is v2023.1, I checked with v2022.2 as well.

best regards,

Jenny