Skip to main content
Question

Automatic File Names

• 10 July 2024
  • 5 replies

Hello,

I am new to FME but have some overall experience with coding and I know there has to be a simple way to solve the issue of automatically creating the file name based on an attribute. I am trying to create an excel file with multiple sheets and I have tried using the fan out parameter (along with anything else I can find online) but its been making multiple files or crashing, instead of just one file with multiple sheets. I have been researching this issue for far too long with absolutely no head way so any help will be greatly appreciated. I will also need to create a kmz/kml file with the same naming parameters if that changes anything.

Thank you in advance,

Sam

5 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +32

to change the sheet name you will need to set it in the Feature Type parameters of the output feature type. Here’s a screen shot below. The Fanout will create multiple files, this method will create multiple sheets. 

Badge +41

In my experience the FeatureWriter is a more intuitive way to configure fanouts than classic Writers. When we train a new teammember in FME, the first thing they learn is to let the classic Readers and Writers be and use FeatureReaders and FeatureWriters instead.

Badge +1

to change the sheet name you will need to set it in the Feature Type parameters of the output feature type. Here’s a screen shot below. The Fanout will create multiple files, this method will create multiple sheets. 

Thank you for the quick response. I’m sorry, I see now that my question was not very clear. I am trying to create a variable file path that the excel book is saved to based off of some predetermined data.