Skip to main content

Hello, 

I am quite new to FME and I am curious to know if there is a way to change the reader(s)/writer(s) using an interactive prompt box.

To be more specific, in my projects I have 3 readers:

ca/sacramento/address

ca/sacramento/roads

ca/sacramento/county

Each time I go to another county, I delete the readers and bring the new ones in:

tx/wise/address

tx/wise/roads

tx/wise/county

I would like to make a variable %path% which should get a value from the prompt box (or command line) so in the end I have a general fme template which I can use by only changing the %path% once.

In this way, maybe I cand run the program from the comand line, specifying the two parameters (state, county) and just let it run

Hi,

one solution could be to publish a parameter BASE_PATH containing e.g. "tx/wise" or "ca/sacramento".

You could then create three private scripted parameters that use BASE_PATH to construct the full input path, which you then link to the readers.

Python scripted parameter example:

base = FME_MacroValuesr"BASE_PATH"]

return base + "/address.shp"

Given BASE_PATH = "tx/wise", it would return "tx/wise/address.shp"

Hope this gives you enough to go on.

David
Hi,

There should be several approaches. Another idea: Create another workspace like Creator -> AttributeCreator -> WorkspaceRunnner. In the workspace, define a published parameter to select a directory path e.g. C:\\...\\tx\\wise, C:\\...\\ca\\acramento... Using AttributeCreator, create 3 source file paths based on the parameter. Then, through WorkspaceRunnder, you can pass those paths to parameters of the original workspace and run it.

You don't need to touch the original workspace.

Takashi
Even easier :-)

David
It's really easy!

Hello all,

Ok, thank you. I am going to try it out now. The main goal is to be able to run it in windows cmd.exe. 

Thanks for the support.

David.