Skip to main content
Hi,

I have this workspace to add a geotag to a jpeg, based on a GARMIN glo GPS logger.

I merge the GPS data with the jpeg by the date. When I take a look at the inspector merging seems to go well. But there is no exif information in the created jpeg (no original exif info and no latitude, longitude and altitude info). Anyone can help? I am new to FME.

Best,

J.

Hi,

how are you merging the GPS coordinates? Are you using the RasterGeoreferencer?

David
I use a FeatureMerger, the join is based on the date/time. I want the GPS coordinates into the exif of my jpeg
I get X,Y,Z coordinates with a CoordinateExtractor from a shp with all GPS locations. I merge them with the jpeg based on the date/hour. So I want the coordinates in e.g. jpeg_exif_latitude jpeg_exif_longitude and jpeg_exif_altitude. But all exif information is lost in the created jpeg writer, even the camera model (Nikon D5300) and date of creation, ...
Hi,

looking at the JPG writer I actually start wondering if it supports writing the lat/lon coordinates. Maybe you should contact Safe support to verify this.

In the meantime, maybe this can help? http://geotag.sourceforge.net/

David
According to the blog by Mark the Evangelist on fme2014 release it does.

Maybe you need to set the relevant metadata attributes?

http://blog.safe.com/2014/02/fmeevangelist123/

Gio, I read that blog posting too. I can't see that it says anything about writing exif data, only reading? I'd love to be proved wrong on this :-)

David
Yes, it only talks about reading indeed.

Well maybe, he can try manipulate the xml data atop in the jpeg (turn extension to txt and check it out), check out the formatrequirements(http://www.media.mit.edu/pia/Research/deepview/exif.html) ?

He is called J.Wiz ;P, so he just might be able to..
Hi,

I changed strategy. I'll write the xyz coordinates and the image name in a txt file.

Based on the documentation (new to PythonCaller), I am trying this code

----

import fme