Skip to main content

I am very new to FME. I'm trying to understand how to format where data is placed within my CSV output. I'm reading specific elements in an XML file and writting it as a CSV. I almost have it working, however it is writting it in the below format.

How to I fix the formatting so that the values fit on the same rows, eliminating the blank spaces?

It looks like you are exploding (fragmenting) each element of your xml into a separate feature, rather than flattening them.

If you inspect the features just before the writer do you have 20 of them, or just 4?

It looks like you are exploding (fragmenting) each element of your xml into a separate feature, rather than flattening them.

If you inspect the features just before the writer do you have 20 of them, or just 4?

Like i said, i'm new to FME, so i'm not yet comfortable with the lingo. Does this photo help?

Like i said, i'm new to FME, so i'm not yet comfortable with the lingo. Does this photo help?

Ideally you could post a fragment of your xml structure, on the xml reader itself the parameters of interest are 'elements to match' and 'flatten options', but without knowing the structure of the xml it's hard to make recommendations.

Ideally you could post a fragment of your xml structure, on the xml reader itself the parameters of interest are 'elements to match' and 'flatten options', but without knowing the structure of the xml it's hard to make recommendations.

Here's a what i typed into "elements to match"

and here is a sample of my XML file

What you want in your elements to match is simply "log"

Enable flattening and you should end up with one feature per log, with the date, time and channel attributes you want.

Enable flattening and you should end up with one feature per log, with the date, time and channel attributes you want.

Awesome! It worked! thank you very much. There's only one more problem, sometimes the XML files are formated this way with no indenting: