Skip to main content

Hi!

I am fairly new to FME. I am trying to develop a tool which creates a bounding box around features in the database. I've managed to create the bounding box as well as all my features into a .CSV file. What I want to do is make the writer use the coordinates found by the bounding box when saving the file name for each file. I have tried using @Value(<attr name>) however this just tells me my schema isn't set. I have also tried using a fan out feature on the writer, doing this allows me to save the file with the coordinates, however this then just leaves me with a blank file whereas I need a table with all the features and their added bits with it. Any help or advice on where to look would be appreciated!

If I read you correctly you want a CSV file per feature with the coordinates of the bounding box as the filename.

You can do this as follows:

1. Use a BoundsExtractor your features box. This will store the min and max x and y coordinates in a set of attributes (_xmin, _ymin, _xmax and _ymax by default, you can change those names if you want to)
  2. Set up the CSV File name in the output feature type properties to be a concatenation of those attrbitues.

Keep in mind though that this will generate really unwieldy filenames.

@redgeographics thanks for the reply, I apologise for the unclear question it was written on a very tired Friday morning! I want one file with all the features inside the bounding box in the file with the filename set as the X&Y; Max & Min values. I have tried using @Value(_xmin) etc. however when I run this it returns

"Features With No Schema defined

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

342240 1

==============================================================================

Total Features NOT Written 372"

Hi Phil (@phil_peters)