Skip to main content
Hello

I’m new to FME. 

How do you rename a source_file  (MapInfo.Tab) and copy it to another folder using a Filecopy writer? I've seen similar questions to this but I still don't know how to do it.

I managed to replicate the Filecopy following the instructions here: https://knowledge.safe.com/articles/How_To/Including-files-dynamically-in-a-data-download-result .However, I want to rename my MapInfo tab file (which I am copying with the Filecopy) and I’m not able to do this.

This is what my process looks like:

The source table is named Car_Parking.Tab and I want it to be CARPARKING.Tab  in the output folder. Landmark is copying fine and I don’t need to change the name. These two are part of a bigger workbench which copies many files. 

For now Car_Parking.* is copying as Car_Parking.* to my output. I did try various things -changing the _filename_part in an attributecreator, Fanout options (I managed to create a  CARPARKING folder )- Creating a Path and file name reader... etc-  but nothing worked.

I saw in some FME community answers " @Value" was added  in the Attributecreater but I couldn't associate @Value to CarParking.

Here’s the process for the  CarParking Tab file:
  • Creator: - Creation Instance Attribute: _creation_instance
  • AttributeCreator: AttributeName = source_fileValue = H:\\CoreData\\Places\\Car_Parking.*
  • AttributeFileReader: - Destination Attribute:_file_contents – Source Filename: H:\\CoreData\\Places\\Car_Parking.Tab – source File Character Encoding: Binary (fme-binary)
*I added a AttributeReader in order to be able to modify
  • FilenamePartExtractor: -Source Attribute: source file – Desired Filename Part: Full Filename – Target Attribute: _filename_part
  • AttributeCreator: - AttributeName: destination_file       – Value: $(Path)\\$(Places) -AttributeName:filecopy_source_dataset       –Value:source_file
*I added user parameters with the $(Path) and $(Places) paths