Skip to main content

Since I am new to FME I have no idea if this is even possible.

I have an Access database that contains projects that are related to specific AutoCAD drawing located in the project folder. I want to create a KML file showing not only place markers (with attribute table in it) for each project but also DWG route. Place markers are easy to do, already done it but I am having trouble figuring out how to implement AutoCAD drawings.

Is it possible to do it through Access database , or I have to use separate Reader for DWG files.

Thank you

Hi @klika68,

You can't read the DWG data through the Access database, but you can use the file locations in Access to control a FeatureReader transformer. The FeatureReader reads the DWG data just like the DWG reader would, but allows you to choose the file(s) to read from the input feature rather than user input.

For more information on the FeatureReader, please see this article: The FeatureReader Transformer.

Hi Dave,

ok I am using FeatureRader that is suppose to read DWGLocation attribute from Access database which is actually a link to DWG file to local drive. Now I am stuck with FeatureReader itself, do I use DWGLocation in Dataset , what about constraints? After entering DWGLocation in Dataset box I get pop-up window asking for Generating Output Ports, so confusing .......

Thanks

featurereader.png

If you click the down arrow to the right of the Dataset box, it should allow you to choose the file location from an input feature attribute. If the attribute does not contain a full path, you may need to use an AttributeCreator to prefix the file name with the path.

Ignore the Constraints section - this is more for databases.

Under Output, set the Output Ports to Single Output Port. Otherwise, you will get a separate port for each layer in the DWG file.