Skip to main content
Solved

Automating FME Server Docker backups

• 2 February 2018
  • 6 replies

Hi,

I'm new to the Docker world and trying to get an understanding of how things work. I've downloaded a couple of the Docker compose files for FME Server and have done some initial playing around with them using the Docker for Windows platform. From my observations to date, all data is lost if the Docker instance is shut down using the docker-compose down -v command, so an FME Server backup should be performed prior to shutdown.

According to information given in this post, it is recommended to leave the Docker container running and let Docker itself manage bringing the FME Server instance up/down if the host machine is rebooted. This will preserve configuration changes, so all good so far, just don't shut down the container!

What happens if the host machine crashes? I assume that Docker will not be able to shut down cleanly and all FME Server configuration information will be lost? To this end, I was hoping to set up a scheduled backup on FME Server but the compose file provided by Safe does not give any access to the host file system, so backups (which, by default, write to the FME Server resources folder, which is internal to the container) would all get lost in this scenario.

Is there a simple way to automate FME Server backups so that they can be written to a drive on the host machine? Ideally, I would like to do this without having to edit the compose files provided by Safe, although it looks like I might have to mess around with the volume definitions.

Am I totally misunderstanding running FME Server under Docker? Is there an easier way to persist the FME Server configuration?

thanks,

Nic

I haven't looked into the details, but I think you should be mounting a volume for your FME Server database, that way your instance is persisted without having to do backup/restore.