Skip to main content

Howdy y’all!

XML newbie here and I have to build a workspace to parse a xml file. I’ve been messing around with the xml reader a bit this morning and cannot seem to get any results. One of the things I noticed immediately is that the field names seem to be only contained in the metadata. Can someone out there maybe show me how to parse these data and write them to something more favorable (excel, shapefile, geodatabase etc)?

Here’s a link to the xml file I’m trying to translate - https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B52_Im1hHfSbOWM2cnA0NDAxdGc

Thanks in advance for any/all help.

Hello @bbbutler,

Here is an XML tutorial that may help you get started with reading XML and transforming it:

https://knowledge.safe.com/articles/29553/tutorial-getting-started-with-xml.html

Hi @bbbutler ,

The XML tutorial Trent posted is a good place to start. Unfortunately the source XML you need to read from has a rather highly normalized, complex structure, making it a challenge to work with. Basically it has one metadata element with field names and then a series of row elements with value series that correspond to the field names in the metadata element. So what you end up with is a field name list and then a series of value lists. The problem then isn't so much reading the XML as it is transforming the lists that are read into flat FME features.

incidentxml-to-csv.zip