Skip to main content

Hello,

I'm totally new to FME and learning from scratch and I've already did some coordinate system transformations (fomr xls to xls and dwg to dwg), but now I'm trying to transform a list of point from an excel file(name, x coordinate, y coordinate) into a dwg with a dwg template for the point name.

Now the points creation is easy but the problem is with point name that should be as a "block reference", just like the one in the template.

I'm not even sure if it DWGStyler is the right choice.

Can anyone help me out?

Thx.

template

workflow

Hi @mp7,

Thanks for posting your question and welcome to FME! I noticed some similar questions in the Q&A; Forum with answers that I think might be helpful for you:
I think this article on Using the DWGStyler, template files, blocks, and more might also be a good resource if you're new and interested in AutoCAD Transformations.

Hello Jovita,

Thx for your reply.

Indeed the first link you're suggesting - I was reading it yesterday :)

The problem is I need the point names appear exactly as they are in the template - as a block reference, not as a plain text/mtext. Since I don't have any experience in FME I don't know if it's even possible to do it like I want it. I'm still trying...

Hello Jovita,

Thx for your reply.

Indeed the first link you're suggesting - I was reading it yesterday :)

The problem is I need the point names appear exactly as they are in the template - as a block reference, not as a plain text/mtext. Since I don't have any experience in FME I don't know if it's even possible to do it like I want it. I'm still trying...

@mp7, I'm glad you're already looking through the Knowledge Base for answers, it's a really good source of information.