Question

Value of attribute could not be converted to type 'timestamptz'.

• 23 April 2024
  • 3 replies

Badge +1

I am trying to upload ifc data through PostGIS Writer and while doing so, I want to generate and store the time of upload as well. However, it gives the following error: “Value of attribute 'begin_lifespan_version' could not be converted to type 'timestamptz'. Feature will be logged and skipped.” 

can someone help? I am a beginner in FME as well.

3 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +10

Hi @kersy, what is the data type for your “begin_lifespan_version” column in PostGIS? Does this match the data type that is set on the PostGIS Writer in FME Workbench?

You can check this by double clicking on the PostGIS Writer and then going to the User Attributes tab. If you set the Attribute Definition to Manual you can change the data type to make sure it matches the database schema.

Additionally, would you be able to share an example of your data before and after the DateTimeConverter? I expect something is happening in these steps that causing the PostGIS Writer to refuse to write the datetime value to the “begin_lifespan_version” column.

Thanks,

Dan

Badge +1

Hi @kersy, what is the data type for your “begin_lifespan_version” column in PostGIS? Does this match the data type that is set on the PostGIS Writer in FME Workbench?

You can check this by double clicking on the PostGIS Writer and then going to the User Attributes tab. If you set the Attribute Definition to Manual you can change the data type to make sure it matches the database schema.

Additionally, would you be able to share an example of your data before and after the DateTimeConverter? I expect something is happening in these steps that causing the PostGIS Writer to refuse to write the datetime value to the “begin_lifespan_version” column.

Thanks,

Dan

Hi @damaiterus23,
I am using a “timestamp with zone” in the database (as you can see below):