Skip to main content

To start out, I am new to FME and to webhooks (or web mapping/web development in general). I am trying to set up a webhook to send an email when a user updates or creates a feature in an ArcGIS Online feature service. I have been able to successfully set up webhooks with Survey123 using the process in this article. Webhooks seem to be a relatively new feature in AGOL. I have only found this Esri article, and it was just from August of this year.

The problem I'm having is that I am able to send the webhook to webhook.site and Integromat (as is described in the Esri article linked above), but when I the webhook sends the payload to the webhook trigger in FME server, the log file doesn't give me the JSON that I get from webhook.site and Integromat, I get the following string of characters:

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

With setting up the webhook with Survey123, the payload is JSON, so it is easy to parse. I have no idea what is going on here.