Question

DGN Labels and Points to GIS

• 15 July 2016
  • 4 replies

Hi all,

I'm new to FME and I'm hoping someone can help. I have a dgn file that contains polygons, each polygon in turn has at least point and a label inside it, sometime it has two points and two labels. I would like to be able to convert the dgn file to a geodatabase and have the labels in each polygon convert to attributes against the layer. Is this possible to do? I have attached a screenshot of what my dgn looks like in data inspector.

Thank you.

4 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +16

You can do this in a very simple way:

Split the data using the GeometryFilter.

Then use the PointonAreaOverlayer to add the point attributes to the Area.

You might want to expose the attribute fme_text_string in the source first.

You can do this in a very simple way:

Split the data using the GeometryFilter.

Then use the PointonAreaOverlayer to add the point attributes to the Area.

You might want to expose the attribute fme_text_string in the source first.

Thanks for this, would you be able to provide a bit more guidance please? How do I use PointonAreaOverlayer to merge the attributes? This is the part I'm struggling with. Thank you.

Userlevel 2
Badge +16

I have attached an image:

The settings for the PointonAreaOverlayer can be left as default if each area contains one point. If it contains multiple points the list attribute should be used to contain the information of all points. You can then either concatenate the list or create an area for each item in the list (ListExploder).

If the points are text points the GeometryFilter needs to select text as type (see settings).

Badge +10

Hello FME newbie,