Skip to main content
Hello!

I'm a beginner so is there a simple way how I can create a polygon out of this GML string?

<s100:Polygon>

<s100:exterior>

<s100:LinearRing>

<s100:posList>27.65 60.56 27.77 60.6 27.89 60.58 27.9 60.53 27.83 60.5 27.82 60.49 27.71 60.49 27.65 60.56</s100:posList>

</s100:LinearRing>

</s100:exterior>

</s100:Polygon>

Thanks for any help!
Hi,

use the GeometryReplacer with "KML" as the geometry encoding type.

David
Sorry for the typo, the geometry encoding is supposed to be GML...

David
Hi David,

thanks for your very quick reply.

I don't get the GML reader loaded, I get the error:

<GML Reader> - No GML features were found in the set of XML Schemas, make sure that at least one of the schemas is a user, domain or community-specific "GML Application Schema".

GML reader appears in the Navigator windows but not in the main window.

I tried it with the XML reader, connect it with the GeometryReplacer and get the following error:

XML Parser error: 'Error in input dataset:'XML-Document-Stream' line:1 column:1 message:invalid document structure'

What's wrong with line 1?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

I'm an FME beginner AND have no clue about XML/GML......
Hi Kathy,

Unless FME has a specific reader for your file format (such as CityGML or LandXML), you will have to parse it yourself to extract the string containing the geometry. When you have the geometry (as in your original question) in a text attribute in FME, you can then use the GeometryReplacer as I suggested below.

Starting here would probably be your best bet. Also take a look at this recorded webinar on how to read XML with FME.

David
The quickest approach is to use a Creator Transformer. Then copy the coordinate values and paste them into the 'Coordinate List' parameter when the 'Geometry Source' is set to '2D Coordinate List' as below. It's simple but it works:

Thank you for the links, David!
Hi Dave,