Question

FME equivalent of ArcGIS Tabulate Areas?

• 13 March 2024
  • 1 reply

Badge

Dear all,

I’m fairly new to FME but currently I’m quite impressed by the software :).

My question is rather simple: is there an equivalent in FME of the Tabulate Areas function of ArcGIS Pro: Tabulate Area (Spatial Analyst)—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

I have two datasets:

• The cadastral parcels of Wallonia in polygon format ;
  • A land cover classification (TIFF raster) with 20+ classes.

I would like to calculate for each polygonal entity the proportion of land cover classes.

The result should look like this:

ID | LC1 | LC2 | LC3 | … | LC20

1 | 10% | 0 | 0 |25 | … | 0

2 | …

3 | …

Many thanks in advance for your feedback :)

1 reply

Userlevel 5
Badge +29

This is very much pseudo code but should hopefully lead you in the right direction. One thing about FME is that there are a lot of ways to achieve the same outcome, so others will likely have a different approach to this.

• Use an AreaCalculator to find the area of the parcels
  • Using a Clipper pass the parcel data in as the ‘Clipper’ and the Landcover data as the candidate. Make sure you check on Merge Attributes in the transformer. This will pass the parcel attributes to the landcover data where a clip takes place
  • Out of the Inside port of the Clipper you will now have your land cover data clipper to parcels. You will also have the area of the parcel on that feature. Calculate the area of the clipped landcover (making sure to not overwrite the parcel area) you can then use this to create a percentage (use the AttributeCreator)