Solved

Extract XML from URL

Badge +3

Hi,

I'm using a HTTPCaller to connect to an XML api service.

Although I can connect and receive XML I can't create attributes from the file. I'm new to XML and don't know how to do this.

I tried using an XML reader and successfully extracted the attributes, but then FME 2019.2 keeps crashing after reading the file, or reads the file and then doesn't show the reader in the workbench, so I'm hoping this will be a more robust method.

I've tried using an XMLFragmenter to get the attributes, but they aren't showing - I assuming I'm missing a step somewhere.

testxml.txt

I've attached a test file.

Thanks

N

icon

Best answer by nielsgerrits 29 April 2020, 10:56

View original

12 replies

Userlevel 4

First of all, there's an invalid character on lines 59456 and 59473, e.g.:

<notes>IPID - 10762190
SS - 42109, 25614

Actuator Max 30m ? Min 15m</notes>

You might want to e.g. use the StringReplacer to fix those first.

You can then read the XML like this (or similar using the FeatureReader):

0684Q00000ArK1ZQAV.png

Result:

0684Q00000ArK9qQAF.png

Userlevel 6
Badge +33

When I try to read it using a FeatureReader I get:

When I check the file in Notepad++ to line 59455 I see some newlines, probably from the source data field SiteNotes.

This corrupts the XML structure which is causing your issue.

You also can only use FME to do check the XML structure:

• Read the xml as text file, change parameter to read whole file at once (entire text in one feature). Make sure you read the correct encoding. (UTF-8).
  • Connect a XMLValidator. The validator will stop at the first error.

Tip: Create a two samples of the file for faster iteration while working. One corrupt file, one good file. When it works, just change to the original big file.

Use the good file to generate the paths from the structure you need with a FeatureReader.

So you need to replace or remove the incorrect newlines in SiteNotes. One way to do this: