Solved

Extracting HTML Table Question

Badge

Hello FME users,

I'm a beginner in HTML code and need some help extracting tables from websites. I've been using the HTMLTable Reader and it has been great if I need to work with just one hyperlink. I'm currently trying to use the HTTPCaller to extract tables from 300+ attributes that have hyperlinks attached.

I'm trying to only extract the 'WELL HISTORY' tables for each attribute.

An example hyperlink is below:

http://sonlite.dnr.state.la.us/sundown/cart_prod/cart_con_wellinfo2?p_WSN=199138

Copy of HTML code is attached

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

icon

Best answer by takashi 5 May 2017, 06:34

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @ngstoke, if you have an external table containing the 300+ hyperlinks (URLs), read the table and send each feature that contains a URL as its attribute (e.g. called "_url") to the FeatureReader to read HTML tables from each URL.

In my testing, the HTML Table reader has read 15 different tables from the URL example, and the WELL HISTORY table was the 6th table among them. There is no way to identify the table name directly according to the HTML contents, but if the WELL HISTORY is always 6th, you can filter the records by the feature type name. That is, the HTML Table reader gives "Table6" to the 6th table as its feature type name, and therefore you can use FeatureTypeFilter to filter the records like this.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @ngstoke, if you have an external table containing the 300+ hyperlinks (URLs), read the table and send each feature that contains a URL as its attribute (e.g. called "_url") to the FeatureReader to read HTML tables from each URL.