Question

How to consolidate Excel worksheets by columns ?

• 8 August 2017
  • 3 replies

Hi all, I am new to FME.

Which transformers should I use to solve the following problem ?

[1] The input Excel file has 3 worksheets, each with 4 columns (1 primary, 3 secondary).

[2] The output Excel file should have 1 worksheet for each secondary column, and the data should be labelled by input worksheet name.

[3] What if there are a few hundred secondary columns in each worksheet in the input Excel file ?

In other words, "transform feature types to attributes".

I was trying to use AttributeManager but did not know how to get hold of the name of the feature type.

Thank you.

* Input Excel file :

* Expected Excel file :

3 replies

Badge +6

Hello @chkkbim

I think this article may help get you started with your workflow:

https://knowledge.safe.com/articles/31701/transpose-a-table-using-fme.html

Userlevel 4
Badge +13

Hi @chkkbim, I've attached a workspace I've created in 2017.0. It could use some fine-tuning (for example, I didn't sort/order by Hour on write and there are duplicate transformers being used) but you can use FME to perform the task you're trying to accomplish.

consolidate-worksheets-by-columns.fmwt

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @chkkbim, I've attached a workspace I've created in 2017.0. It could use some fine-tuning (for example, I didn't sort/order by Hour on write and there are duplicate transformers being used) but you can use FME to perform the task you're trying to accomplish.

consolidate-worksheets-by-columns.fmwt

I think @TiaAtSafe's example contains basic techniques to solve the problem, but I'm afraid that the workflow could not solve the third requirement.

[3] What if there are a few hundred secondary columns in each worksheet in the input Excel file?

This is an example that demonstrates a way to solve it:

consolidate-excel-worksheets-example.fmwt (FME 2017.0.1.1)