Solved

Transpose a table by attribute but retain the rest

• 28 September 2018
  • 7 replies

This is what I have

This is what I need

As you can see I need to transpose the ID but retaining the rest. I am unsure how to phrase the question so I guess the images shows my problem better than my phrasing!

My table has more than thousand records and I tried many combinations of sorter, counter, attributeexploader and so on until the point that I am very confused as how to even approach this in FME. Any suggestions are appreciated! And yes, I'm very new to FME. Output should be a csv but that is less of a concern right now.

icon

Best answer by takashi 29 September 2018, 04:11

View original

7 replies

Badge +2
Hi @majkiboy,

FME cannot have multiple attributes (column headers) with the same name because it will always treat them as one, so it will be difficult to achieve what you are after. I think you would need to rename each attribute according to that ID e.g (ID_2, Level_2, Time_2) to be able to display them like you wish, which if achievable would end up being quite complicated.

Hi @majkiboy,

FME cannot have multiple attributes (column headers) with the same name because it will always treat them as one, so it will be difficult to achieve what you are after. I think you would need to rename each attribute according to that ID e.g (ID_2, Level_2, Time_2) to be able to display them like you wish, which if achievable would end up being quite complicated.

If anyhow I would end up with a table like you are talking about, that would be okay since it is easy to change those multiple entries of "ID_1, ID_2, ID_3" and so on to just "ID". But I would need help how to even achieve the output you are talking about.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @majkiboy, if the IDs are natural numbers (integers beginning with 1), the maximum ID is fixed and you can configure the destination schema statically, this workflow would be possible.