Question

Workspace runner GDB update

Badge

Hi,

I am new to FME. I currently have 286 old gdb that consist of 15 feature classes, they needs to be updated to a new gdb. Some of the updates includes: changing a point to polygon, merging feature classes, changing fields name, and also mapping value for subtype. I have already figure out how to update an individual gdb.

Right now, I am playing around with Workspace runner and Directory and File pathnames reader. I am uncertain about some of the parameters.

In my workspace, for my reader and writer, does it matter if I load any old gdb as the reader? and any new gdb as the writer?

I have attached below what my current workspace looks like.

Can you please help me out? It would be very much appreciated :-)

Thanks,

Vincent

6 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17
I have some questions to clarify the situation.

1. Are the 286 old gdb datasets (*.gdb folders) saved under the same parent folder?
  2. Is the current workspace shown in your screenshot to perform the translation from a single old gdb dataset to a single new gdb dataset?
  3. Do you intend to use a WorkspaceRunner in another workspace to run the current workspace 286 times for each old gdb dataset?
  4. How do you determine the 286 new destination gdb dataset names (i.e. *.gdb paths)?
Badge
I have some questions to clarify the situation.

1. Are the 286 old gdb datasets (*.gdb folders) saved under the same parent folder?
  2. Is the current workspace shown in your screenshot to perform the translation from a single old gdb dataset to a single new gdb dataset?
  3. Do you intend to use a WorkspaceRunner in another workspace to run the current workspace 286 times for each old gdb dataset?
  4. How do you determine the 286 new destination gdb dataset names (i.e. *.gdb paths)?

Hi @takashi,