Question

Can i convert CSV/xlsx to a 3D CAD format?

Badge

I am very interested to know if FME can take a spread sheet based file and convert it into a 3D CAD model.

I work in the water industry and if I had a spread sheet full of manholes and another full of pipes. Could FME plot the manholes based on X and Y's in the spread sheet, it would also have manhole depth, diameter. The pipe spread sheet would the contain its upstream and downstream node, its depth, length and diameter. Everything in theory that it would need to convert to 3D. Is FME able to then take all of this and give me a CAD output?

I have seen a video taking GIS buildings to a 3D format by the person telling FME that the height is in Column X of Y spread sheet, I guess this is just a more complex use of the program.

7 replies

Badge +5

Hi @connor27

Yes, this is possible. As you say, it's a bit more complex, but shouldn't be too difficult.

Here's a short video I created demonstrating how to turn id,x,y,diameter,depth into a 3D structure.

http://screencast.com/t/ERr8BYQvux

The pipelines would be slightly more difficult, but still possible I think.

If you need more assistance then please do ask here, or contact the Safe support or sales team (safe.com/support or sales@safe.com). They'll be able to help you out with a more detailed demo of exactly what you require.

Hope this helps

Mark

Mark Ireland

Product Evangelist

Safe Software Inc.
Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @connor27, you can also create pipes with a similar way to the way @mark2catsafe suggested for manholes. Just add a process to rotate the cylinder-like solid. It requires some math expressions, but not so complex.

1. 2DEllipseReplacer: Create a circle that represents the section of a pipe.
  2. 3DForcer: Give z-coordinate at the upstream node to the circle.
  3. AttributeCreator: Calculate 3D vector (upstream -> downstream) and 2D / 3D length of the pipe.