Solved

Batch output switch

Hi,

Yet another newbie here.

I am just wondering if its possible to change writers output in some quick way (drop down list, etc).

let me explain... I have an excel spreadsheet and 13+ feature classes (ArcGIS 10.3.1) I am using FeatureMerger to join the table with every single feature class (not always basing on the same common field). So far so good, it is working fine but sometimes i need to change an storing location, eg. output1: local test area, output2: internal server (SDE), output3: external server (SDE).

How to change the output locations all at once. At the moment i have 13 writers and i don't want to change each of them every time and i don't want to create workbenches for each of the potential outputs. How to do that?

Thanks,

icon

Best answer by mygis 2 June 2017, 01:15

View original

13 replies

Badge +2

Recently saw similar where there were 19 Readers each containing a single Feature Type all reading from same SDE database.

Are you sure you have 13 Writers (in the navigator panel) or do you mean 13 Feature Types that you can see on the canvas (and in the navigator panel). Terminology and concepts can be a bit confusing in the beginning. Please post your Workspace or at least screen grab.

Parameters is the way to control output location and can be either Published (configurable at runtime) or Private fixed until the Workspace author changes it.

Badge +8

Hi @chrisladny ,

Do you have 13 output destinations? Or is it 13 feature classes in each database?

Thanks.

Lyes

Just to give you some background, nr1 it is simple table to table (with adding extra fields that will be used to join with feature classes), nr2 its just an output of 1; nr 3 is a list of features that I need to join with the table (only first one is done, rest of them(nr7) will look very similar); 4, 5, 6 these are optional outputs.