Solved

"Dynamic" output to SQL Server - no Table Qualifier/database schema ?

Userlevel 1
Badge +22

Hi,

I'm fairly new to using the dynamic output, but needed it for converting a set of shape files to SQL Server.

The writer has a "Table Qualifier" field, which in static writing designates the target database schema.

However, when used in dynamic writing mode, the value entered here is completely ignored, and the tables are all created in the "dbo" schema.

Is this WAD og a bug ? And if WAD, is it possible to set the database schema anyway ?

Cheers

Lars I.

icon

Best answer by takashi 13 October 2017, 16:30

View original

11 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @lifalin2016, I was able to reproduce the same symptom as yours, and I think it is a kind of bug. Hope someone from Safe will check this > @NatalieAtSafe.

A workaround I found is:

• Set the qualified table name "<schema name>.@Value(fme_feature_type)" to the Table Name.
  • Leave the Table Qualifier field blank.
  • Set "fme_feature_type" to the Schema Definition Name explicitly.

In FME 2017.1, this seems to work as expected.

Userlevel 4
Badge +13

Hi @lifalin2016, I've been able to reproduce the issue as well. There is an existing problem report (PR74153) and I have linked your question to it. I'm sorry that you've encountered this issue. We will provide an update here once the report is addressed. In the meantime, @takashi's workaround should get you going.

Userlevel 1
Badge +22

Hi @lifalin2016, I was able to reproduce the same symptom as yours, and I think it is a kind of bug. Hope someone from Safe will check this > @NatalieAtSafe.

A workaround I found is:

• Set the qualified table name "<schema name>.@Value(fme_feature_type)" to the Table Name.
  • Leave the Table Qualifier field blank.
  • Set "fme_feature_type" to the Schema Definition Name explicitly.

In FME 2017.1, this seems to work as expected.

Thanks Takashi,