Question

Creating maps with dynamic scale bar

• 24 April 2017
  • 6 replies

Hi,

I am new to FME and I try to generate several PDFs with map-content at once.

I am struggeling with the creation of a dynamic scale bar.

My Inputdataset is a Shapefile with a lot of polygons I want to iterate through. I need to zoom on every single feature and generate a PDF (for every single feature).

Because of big differences in the size of the features, a static scalebar-Image would be no Option.

Im thinking about a pythonscript to fill a mxd-template and generate the pdf with arcpy.

Is there no fme-way to solve the whole problem without a workaround?

Furthermore it would be great to zoom in steps to even scales.

Thank u very much

6 replies

Badge +3

You can do that by calculating the worldframe (contains the map) vs its content.

Group by ID of objects to get the scale info of each object. Scale is dictated by the bounds of the objects (including maybe some margin) and the frame size.

(see fme readers and writers for these parameters of the pdf writer)

And create a scale bar by creating 2dboxes (or construct them from polylines)

Badge +3

@denisvyver

I looked up the part in a old pdf-creation script of mine.

Here is a pic

schaal = scale (Dutch)

xmax, xmin etc. is extent of bounding box of object, the pdf_world_rectangle including some margins)

xmaxFrame etc. form the calculated (to keep aspect ratio of boundingbox) pdf_frame_rectangle

see pic here

(I used the fme readers and writers pdf section to build these.

Can be found on fme documentation page)

Fme PDFPageFormatter lacks parameter control trough attribute and has no output attributes.

Badge +2

Hi gio,

Is it possible to post a .fmwt for the exemple because I don't understand all the steps of the pics ?

Thanks in advance.

Pierre

Badge +2

You can do that by calculating the worldframe (contains the map) vs its content.