Question

General way of working with a FME Server deployment on Docker

• 16 March 2023
  • 8 replies

I'm very new to the concept of deploying things within a Docker environment. As far as I know, FME Server works perfectly fine with this but what about the interaction with FME Server after it´s up and running. Are you as a workspace author just uploading your workspaces like you do on a normal FME Server on a regular Windows plattform? Same with FME Projects?

My second question is if there is a way to use Docker and Jenkins to install FME Projects instead of the normal way through FME Server Gui import/export.

Regards

Stefan

8 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +26

Uploading workspace is the same, just publish from FME Desktop - a key difference is that FME Server in docker is running on linux which means there are several limitations/differences between windows (Just make sure you have the correct host name and port number).

I'm not exactly sure about what you mean about using Docker and Jenkins to install an FME Project, however, a REST call can be made to import a project to FME Server. I think you first need to upload the project to a resource and then import it. This can most likely be run is a Jenkins build script

Uploading workspace is the same, just publish from FME Desktop - a key difference is that FME Server in docker is running on linux which means there are several limitations/differences between windows (Just make sure you have the correct host name and port number).

I'm not exactly sure about what you mean about using Docker and Jenkins to install an FME Project, however, a REST call can be made to import a project to FME Server. I think you first need to upload the project to a resource and then import it. This can most likely be run is a Jenkins build script