Question

Is it possible to write out an image (or features) in a 3D perspective view?

• 11 April 2022
  • 5 replies

Hi everyone,

I'm still quite new to FME so I'm hoping this is not a dumb question!

I am trying to write out basemaps in 3D perspective for a client.

The goal is to get a more realistic image by avoiding the orthographic view.

However, whenever I try to output the basemap, I get the orthographic view. In 3D view the Data Inspector does give a nice perspective view. Whenever I switch to 2D, the orthographic view is visible.

I feel like using the ImageRasterizer transformer (or any other transformer I tried) will force the data into 2D and removes the perspective.

To showcase the desired output perspective versus the current output perspective, I've attached two images: the perspective output (2nd image) is what I'd like! They're just of a rectangular box that has been rotated in 3D.

Current output perspectiveDesired output perspective 

Any tips/ideas are greatly appreciated. A vector-based approach is also welcome!

Thanks in advance.

5 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +25

That's not possible with FME. I think your best option would be to write to KML and set up a view point and a look at location. But then you'd get the Google Earth base layer rather than the base map selected in the FME Data Inspector.

The Data Inspector, and the Visual Preview in Workbench, are really just meant for inspecting your data as you are working with it. They are not intended to be full-fledged mapping applications.

That's not possible with FME. I think your best option would be to write to KML and set up a view point and a look at location. But then you'd get the Google Earth base layer rather than the base map selected in the FME Data Inspector.

The Data Inspector, and the Visual Preview in Workbench, are really just meant for inspecting your data as you are working with it. They are not intended to be full-fledged mapping applications.