Question

Hi All, I have some shapefiles which include various geometry types (polygons, line, points) and they are located in different folders based on regions. I want to filter these based on geometry type . Can someone help please.

I used the Directory and File Pathnames reader to go through folders and select all shapefiles.

Then trying to use GeometryExtractor and GeometryFilter to filter line shapefiles but GeometryExtractor output has no geometry. Then I'm using the GeometryReplacer to replace the geometry but again the output has no geometry and the GeometryFilter cannot filter lines.

I'm very new to FME so please go easy!

Thanks in advance.

10 replies

Badge +11

If you attach a sample of the data, it would be easier to solve your question

Userlevel 5
Badge +29

Hey, assuming your folder structure is something like...

C:\data\
   region1
        shp
        shp
   region2
        shp
        shp

Its a pretty straight forward. You need to make use of wildcards on the Shapefile reader. Your reader path will be "C:\data\**\*.shp". This will traverse through all folders in "C:\data" and find/read any file ending in shp.

Then you'll want to use a geometry filter and filter area (polygon), line and point

region1
        shp
        shp
   region2
        shp
        shp

Its a pretty straight forward. You need to make use of wildcards on the Shapefile reader. Your reader path will be "C:\data\**\*.shp". This will traverse through all folders in "C:\data" and find/read any file ending in shp.

Then you'll want to use a geometry filter and filter area (polygon), line and point

@hkingsbury​ Thanks for the answer.

Yes that's how the data structure is and the path reader just like you mentioned it traverse through all folders and read the .shp files. The path output is all good I can see all shapefiles selected.