Question

Issues with dissolver when donuts/holes

• 15 July 2019
  • 7 replies

Badge +4

Hi all,

I am new to FME and I am trying to solve the following problem:

I have a set of 24 .shp. Each shp comes from the buffer line, and each has more than 50,000 characteristics. Each one contains polygons and donuts. When I read it together, I have a lot of polygons and holes overlapped.

I have to dissolve the shp set because I need the fused surface of the buffers clearly, without overlays.

Although I have tried to dissolve it by different methods such as extracting holes, dissolving and adding holes afterwards, or dividing the data set with a tiler and dissolving it based on groups (row, column), the output is never what you expect, having filled holes or partially undissolved areas.

I think the dissolver does not work properly because there are too many overlaps, holes in a single feature and holes between features -from reading the entire set .shp in a single reader-

I have attached an image of a shp containing the 24 shp merged, but with no dissolver and a image of unexpected output (in green).

Any help or suggestion will be appreciated.

Thank you,

Pol

7 replies

Badge +22

I agree this is a bug, you should send your sample data to safe.

In similar situations, setting the tolerance has helped.

Something to try to get a result in the meantime if the above doesn't work, is using one of the following transformer before the dissolver:

DonutBridgeBuilder

ArenAreaOverlayer

Badge +4

I agree this is a bug, you should send your sample data to safe.

In similar situations, setting the tolerance has helped.

Something to try to get a result in the meantime if the above doesn't work, is using one of the following transformer before the dissolver:

DonutBridgeBuilder

ArenAreaOverlayer

Hi @jdh

I'm using FME 2016, so there's no tolerance on the dissolver, I think. But, anyway, what tolerenace are you referring?