Question

File name using attribute with single value

Badge

I'm very new to FME.... I have an attibute with one single value, and other attributes with multiple values. I want my writter to name my file based on that single value, however when I select this attribute to be my file name, it creates two files (one file with no name containing all other attributes, and the other file named correctly but not containing any data)

10 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

It's hard to find any issue without more specific explanation about your workspace configuration. It would be helpful to understand the situation if you could share the workspace with us.

Badge

It's hard to find any issue without more specific explanation about your workspace configuration. It would be helpful to understand the situation if you could share the workspace with us.

Workspace attached. I cannot upload my XML file, however, i've uploaded it as a .txt

27781-issue-file.txtXLM to CSV.fmw

Badge +2

Hi,

I assumed that you don't want the record which have file name and you want same filename to file which is created with name ".csv".

Add in the workbench as shown

Pratap

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

When you configure Feature Type Fanout, you should set the fanout attribute (NEW_FILE_NAME) having an appropriate destination feature type name (i.e. CSV filename) to every feature.

In you case, just a single feature from <Instrument_info_data_header> element has values in "Project_ID" and "Location", other features from <Log> elements don't have values in those attributes. Therefore, only the "Instrument_info_data_header" feature has been written into the correct file, others have been written into "." file.

A possible workaround is, merge the "NEW_FILE_NAME" having an appropriate value to every "Log" feature before writing.

For example: The FeatureMerger (Join On: 1 to 1) merges NEW_FILE_NAME to every Log feature unconditionally.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17