Question

Detecting changes in attribute values for multiple feature classes.

• 18 February 2020
  • 3 replies

I have got multiple featureclasses within a database, which I need to compare with the same database in the future. The featureclasses all have a GlobalID (unique value), which is the same as the GlobalID in the other database. I need to detect any changes to geometry and attribute values and write these away in preferably a new featureclass, an Excel list will also do.

The "Changes" list or table should include the GlobalID of the feature, the "before" value and the "after" value. The geometry I have found is not an issue as I can use the "Change detector". However I seem to struggle with the change in attribute value, I have gone over several posts but none with a (working) answer (some links do not work anymore).

I am rather new to FME myself and do not have a lot of python knowledge, I am working with FME Desktop 2018.1 and the ArcMap the features come from/go back into is ArcMap version 10.3.1.

Any help or guidelines would be much appreciated!

3 replies

Badge +2

@remkohj FME 2019 has a revised ChangeDetector that combines the functionality of both the ChangeDetector (FME 2018 or earlier) and the UpdateDetector (HUB transformer). In addition, it you have a update key attribute (such as your GlobalID) the newer ChangeDetector will return a list of the changes.

I've attached a small example (2019): changedetector2019.fmwt

@remkohj FME 2019 has a revised ChangeDetector that combines the functionality of both the ChangeDetector (FME 2018 or earlier) and the UpdateDetector (HUB transformer). In addition, it you have a update key attribute (such as your GlobalID) the newer ChangeDetector will return a list of the changes.

I've attached a small example (2019): changedetector2019.fmwt