Solved

How to find lines in a network that self intersects?

• 21 November 2016
  • 16 replies

Hi!

I am new to FME. I have a set of network data where the network is made of many segments of lines. I am trying to find a way to test the integrity of the network. I have to ensure that no segment of line intersects with itself. I tried SpatialFilter with the "intersect" and "touches" test. That proved positive for all lines. Then I realized it must be true as the lines connect end to end. I need to know which segment connects to itself. Then I tried GeometryValidator and tested of self-intersections in 2D. That can only detect lines that self intersect and crosses. The lines that self intersect on itself without crossing are not picked up.

Can anyone help? Thanks!

icon

Best answer by gio 22 November 2016, 17:52

View original

16 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +12

Hi,

Are you saying that the self-intersecting is not crossing over like, but touching at a particular point (Say if your line looked like a "P"). If so, the Intersector will tell you the number of "_overlaps". You should also "group by" a unique id, so that it doesn't intersect with all other features. Also since you are looking at individual features, set "Input is order by Groups" to Yes (That just means that as each feature comes in to the intersector it will be processed straight away rather than waiting for the whole dataset to be loaded before performing the function).

Hi Todd,

In my case, the definition of self intersecting is both crossing over and touching at a particular point. GeometryValidator only flags the ones where crossing over occurs. I am only feeding in one feature class to the filter. Do I still need to select a "group by" id? I tried setting "Input is order by Groups" to Yes but that does not change the result.

Userlevel 1
Badge +12

Hi Todd,