Question

Iterative execution of an FME workflow

Badge +4

I'm new to FME. I have a process that intersects a line buffer from Oracle with a shp stored in local. In the end there is a dissolver to reduce the number of polygons and write it in a shp.

The problem is that from Oracle come 11 million records ... and in the dissolver I get an error.

My question would be if there would be a way to execute the process in the following way: that I read 500,000 records, process them, write them in the shp, then another 500,000, then others and so on until the end. It could be done?

4 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +25

Yes, that could be done. You could for example use a SQLCreator to get the data out of Oracle through a SQL query and limit the number of returned records there, but it would be difficult to make sure each set of 500000 records is actually geographically contiguous.

Dissolving is a rather hefty operation I'm afraid, if you can show us your process we might be able to come up with other suggestions to get this done.

One question I have right away: are the line buffers in Oracle, or the lines from which you create buffers in FME? If it's the 2nd then joining the lines (LineCombiner) before buffering might be a way to speed things up.

Badge +4

Hello @redgeographics. This is an image of my workspace . As you can see, lines buffers in workspace, not in oracle. The attibute to dissolve is inherited from oracle, and all the lines have same value on this attribute. I want the buffer as clean as possible, without overlaps, but I don't know if this is the best way to do that.

Thanks,

Pol CB

Badge +4

@redgeographics I almost forget it! This process will surely run on a virtual machine ... I do not know if this can affect the performance of the process too much

Userlevel 5
Badge +25