Solved

Iterate parameter values for multiple transformers

• 15 August 2019
  • 7 replies

Hi,

I'm relatively new to FME but am interested in running a workbench that loops/iterates parameter values (Neighbour Finder distance, Bufferer distance, and a number value in a tester) multiple times.

E.g. I want to generate outputs with a buffer distance of 5000, 10000, 15000, neighbour counts of 4,5,6 etc.

What is the best way to set a workbench running, that will generate multiple different outputs, based on iterating through parameter values, naming outputs accordingly?

I wish to end up with multiple outputs in a format similar to

output_$BufferDistance_$NeighbourDistance_$NumberValue

icon

Best answer by erik_jan 15 August 2019, 16:11

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +25

For looping you should take a look at custom transformers, that in combination with a fanout on the output filenames could do the trick. The FME Desktop Advanced course covers that. It's not a very easy thing to master though.

Somewhat easier perhaps is to set up one workspace that does the Neighbor finding, buffering and testing, create published parameters for the relevant values and then create a second workspace that runs the first one through a WorkspaceRunner. Feed that second workspace with an Excel file containing the values you want to put in the parameters.

Userlevel 2
Badge +16

I would store the different values for the parameters in a file (Excel, CSV or similar).

Then use a reader to read the combination line by line.

Use the values in a WorkSpaceRunner transformer to run a workspace that uses the single combination and create the output.

Each line in the file would trigger the workspace to run with a different combination, creating the output as requested.

The name of the output file would use the published parameters like this:

output_$(BufferDistance)_$(NeighbourDistance)_$(NumberValue)

Hope this helps.

Userlevel 1
Badge +21