Question

Extracting slope values from contour lines to polyline network

• 30 January 2018
  • 8 replies

Badge

Hi there,

I'm working on a project where I'm trying to identify the slope of various segments along a pedestrian network based on contour lines. The ultimate goal is to create a dataset that shows changes in slope along various portions of the pedestrian network (say every 3 feet).

I'm new to working with contour lines, and I was wondering whether anyone has initial suggestions on how to approach this project in FME?

cc'ing @takashi since I've found your explanations very helpful in the past.

8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +16

Use the contour lines to build a 3D model (SurfaceModeler transformer).

The drape the pedestrian network over the model (SurfaceDraper transformer) to get Z values on each vertex in the network.

A slope per network segment can be calculated (using ExpressionEvaluator transformer) by dividing the length by the difference in Z value between start and end vertex.

Badge

Hi Erik,

Thanks for your quick response. I tried the method that you proposed in the workspace attached, but I'm a bit confused how you "get Z values on each vertex in the network" after using the SurfaceDraper tool. When I run the attached workspace, I don't see any Z values in the output file. Any idea what I'm not doing correctly here? Thanks in advance!

Badge

Use the contour lines to build a 3D model (SurfaceModeler transformer).

The drape the pedestrian network over the model (SurfaceDraper transformer) to get Z values on each vertex in the network.

A slope per network segment can be calculated (using ExpressionEvaluator transformer) by dividing the length by the difference in Z value between start and end vertex.

I meant to include the above answer as a comment - see above!

Userlevel 3
Badge +17

Hi Erik,