Solved

JSON Output Not Written

Badge +1

Hi,

I am new with JSON. I am actually fetching dats using HTTPCaller and saving the output in csv format. I have used Creator-HTTPCaller-JSONValidator-JSONFormatter-JSONFlattener-Writter(csv). Everything seems correct till formatter, but when I use flattener, the elements are not getting exploded in the csv output or even inspector.

icon

Best answer by takashi 11 December 2015, 07:04

View original

18 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi,

Firstly check the result from the JSONFlattener with the Inspector (Feature Information window of Data Inspector).

In addition, I don't think you need to use the JSONFormatter before flattening a valid JSON object.

Takashi

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

The response body is a JSON array. You have to use the JSONFragmenter to transform elements of the array into individual JSON objects, before flattening with the JSONFlattener. The JSONFormatter is not essential to do that.

See here to learn more about the structure of JSON objects.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

The response body is a JSON array. You have to use the JSONFragmenter to transform elements of the array into individual JSON objects, before flattening with the JSONFlattener. The JSONFormatter is not essential to do that.

See here to learn more about the structure of JSON objects.

In addition, if you set "Yes" to the "Load Keys as Attributes" and "Recursively Flatten Objects/Arrays" parameters of the JSONFragmenter, you can remove the JSONFlattener.

Badge +1

Thanks Takashi for the advice. It was really helpful.

On a way ahead of that, if you see the file, there are two "name", which we need to extract. The first is having a number but the other is have real name (not the number). Can we extract "name" which does not have the number. It is giving a problem since its not an attribute, but a JSON file. Even when I use ListExploder with name{}, the output is null and gives blank output.

Thanks

Userlevel 2
Badge +17