Question

Parcel Overlay

• 18 April 2018
  • 2 replies

Hello all. I am relatively new to FME. I’ve completed the basic and advanced FME tutorials, but that is where my experience ends. I’ve been struggling with a particular problem for some time now. I’m not sure if FME is the solution or not, but I really enjoy working with FME, so I’m hoping it is. I am a GIS Analyst and I am hoping to not have to fall back on geoprocessing to complete the task. I work for a County Assessor’s office and I’m trying to solve a problem.

Our parcel numbers consist of a book number(!), page number and item number (e.g. 999-99-999, respectively). We have polygon boundaries that represent book numbers that were created by a mixture of parcel book numbers, PLSS boundaries and roads. They were created a long time ago and are not to be changed, as much as possible.

Parcels are changing continuously throughout the year. For simplicities sake, I have parcels with book numbers A and B. I also have book boundary numbers A and B. When I overlay parcels with book number A onto book boundary A, I need to determine which parcels fall within book boundary A and which parcels with book number A fall into book boundary B, or simply just are outside of book boundary A. The parcels with book number A that fall within book boundary B are what I need to find so that I can update the book boundaries. We have over one million parcels and a thousand book boundaries, so it has to be solved programmatically.

I have searched the FME knowledge center and tried every transformer that can I think to use. This is my last resort. Thank you for any and all help.

2 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +13

Hi @cpollard2018 Have you tried the SpatialRelator? Direct a copy of every polygon into both the Requestor and Supplier ports and test where "Requestor Overlaps Supplier".