Solved

How to make multiple layers export as multiple tabs in a .CSV

• 28 March 2023
  • 5 replies

Hi All,

I'm very new to FME so excuse my noobiness.

I'm bring in a roughly 20 shapefiles and running them through a attribute filter to pull out the ones with a matching project number, from there i'm exporting them out as a .csv.

As it currently stands all results are put into one spreadsheet. not ideal. i would like them all in one spreadsheet but as separate tabs for each individual layer. As a work around i've made each layer its own attribute filter running to its own .csv writer, then i'm copying them into a single spreedsheet.

icon

Best answer by egge 28 March 2023, 11:02

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +11

Hi,

Which spreadsheet application are you using? A wild guess would be it is Microsoft Excel you are using, right? If so, you should not write your data to a csv to copy them to your spreadsheet manually. You should be using the Microsoft Excel (XLSXW) Writer. One Excel writer can be used to create multiple tabs (sheets) in a spreadsheet. For Sheet Name you can use the Attribute Value containing the project number. This should give you a single spreadsheet with a tab for each individual project.

Please let us know if this gets your job done.

Cheers,

Egge-Jan

Hi,

Which spreadsheet application are you using? A wild guess would be it is Microsoft Excel you are using, right? If so, you should not write your data to a csv to copy them to your spreadsheet manually. You should be using the Microsoft Excel (XLSXW) Writer. One Excel writer can be used to create multiple tabs (sheets) in a spreadsheet. For Sheet Name you can use the Attribute Value containing the project number. This should give you a single spreadsheet with a tab for each individual project.

Please let us know if this gets your job done.

Cheers,

Egge-Jan

Hi @egge​,