Solved

How to extract from a Lidar point cloud the local maximum Z and its X and Y coordinates for each building footprint ?

• 28 February 2023
  • 8 replies

Hi,

I am a beginner on FME and I have some difficulties.

I would like to extract from my LiDAR point cloud, the local maximum elevation with the x and y coordinates of each building footprint.

I have as input :

- a LiDAR point cloud

- the footprint of each building in format shp.

As output, I would like to have a .txt file with the maximum z of each point as well as the x and y coordinates of the maximum, all in the same .txt file.

I was able to extract the LiDAR points for each building footprint using the Clipper tool.

Then I used the PointCloudStatisticsCalculator tool.

I get my zmax for each building as a table. But I can't get them together in one .txt file with x and y coordinates.

Would you have an idea to solve my problem?

Thanks in advance.

icon

Best answer by valerieprivat 2 March 2023, 22:44

View original

8 replies

Badge +12

Hi! There's possibly a much neater way (there usually is with FME), but ONE approach might be to

1) Use a PointCloudCoercer to turn the point clouds into Individual Points, then

2) Use a Coordinate Extractor to save the coordinates as attributes

3) Use a Sorter to sort by the z attribute in descending order , and

4) Use a Sampler to sample just the first 1 Feature.

Now you should have 1 point (the one with the highest z coordinate in the point cloud, together with attributes for x, y and z, and should be able to write that to a .txt file.

Hi,

Thank you for your quick answer.

Your solution works very well, but it doesn't quite answer my problem.

I did not express myself well.

I have a LAS file that I cut into several entities with the Clipper tool. Then I want to determine the maximum of each of these entities.