Question

Building facade(front) direction find out

Badge

Hi pls help me with this. I just want to know which direction building is facing. I have thousands of building and i want that at once all buildings front direction should come out. The data i have are building foot print(.shp), 3d model (citygml) and road center line(.shp)

12 replies

Badge +6

Hi @Abinash Rout​, In your CityGML are you able to extract the <!--front surface--> tag? This isn't an area I'm an expert in but wondering if that would help. This documentation would be a good place to start as well.

Badge

Hi @Abinash Rout​, In your CityGML are you able to extract the <!--front surface--> tag? This isn't an area I'm an expert in but wondering if that would help. This documentation would be a good place to start as well.

Thanks for replying but i just want to know if there is any transformer which will help me find direction like weather its facing south, north or south east etc.

Badge

@david_r​ can you pls help me with this its really urgent

Badge +20

Use BoundingBoxReplacer set to 2D Oriented Bunding Box and give a name to the angle attribute.BoundingBoxReplacerThis will give you the direction of the longest side of the building, not the orientation of a specific facade.

Another method would be to use NeighborFinder with buildings as Base and roads as Candidates and use the _angle attribute to mao orientation.

Badge

Use BoundingBoxReplacer set to 2D Oriented Bunding Box and give a name to the angle attribute.BoundingBoxReplacerThis will give you the direction of the longest side of the building, not the orientation of a specific facade.

Another method would be to use NeighborFinder with buildings as Base and roads as Candidates and use the _angle attribute to mao orientation.

@caracadrian​ thank you so much.So from angle how will i identify the direction east, west or north-east etc.

Userlevel 4

@david_r​ can you pls help me with this its really urgent