Question

Hi, I'm new to FME. I have created a basic workspace using the Esri ArcGIS Portal Feature Service Reader and are having issues with authentication.

• 11 October 2022
  • 1 reply

Badge

When I select NTLM the workspace successfully runs on FME Desktop and FME Server with all features read as expected. When I select Kerberos, the workspace successfully runs on FME Desktop but not FME Server.

The following error is observed in FME Server:

“ArcGIS Portal Feature Service Reader: Using authentication ‘Kerberos’ ”

“ArcGIS Portal Feature Service Reader: Logging into ‘https://<my ArcGIS Portal host>/portal/’ as user ' ' ”

"ArcGIS Portal Feature Service Reader: Could not log into https://<my ArcGIS Portal host>/portal/sharing/rest/generateToken as user ' '. Check your credentials and try again. The error code from the server was '400' and the message was: 'Unable to generate token. 'username' must be specified, 'password' must be specified."

Ideally we would like to use a more secure authentication method than NTLM. ArcGIS Portal is not currently setup to use OAuth and I’ve attempted to use the other authentication types with no success.

Other notes:

·        I am using FME Desktop/Server v2021.2.0.1

·        I have created a service account for SSO which is used by the FME Server Engines service. It has been registered as an SPN for both the unqualified and fully-qualified FME Server hostname

·        SSO works when logging into FME Server Web App on a different machine to the FME Server installation but not on the same machine as the FME Server installation. I’ve followed the troubleshooting article for IWA/SSO and my setup appears to be OK. I’m also aware that this is a known issue with FME Server.