Question

Configure location for Shared Folders

Hi all, I am new to FME and got a configuration question.

I noticed that when I start an FME translation, so-called "shared folders" are created (https://desktopmanualbasic.safe.com/DesktopBasic3BestPractice/3.19.SharingResources.html#shared-resource-folders). Obviously, there is a default location below which these folders are created. For me, this default location is '<USERDIR>\\Documents\\FME'.

I have seen that under

Tools > FME Options > Default Paths > Shared FME Folders 

the paths for these shared folders can be configured.

However, it appears that there, only an EXTRA location is configured - IN ADDITION to the default location. I.e. if under "Shared FME Folders", I specify for example 'C:\\MyPrograms\\FME_Shared_Folders' as additional shared folder location, the shared folders are created at TWO locations, namely (also see attached image '01_shared folders log.png'):

• C:\\MyPrograms\\FME_Shared_Folders
  • <USERDIR>\\Documents\\FME

Is there any way to ensure the shared folders are created EXCLUSIVELY under the additional location I specified ('C:\\MyPrograms\\FME_Shared_Folders'), and NOT also under the default location ('<USERDIR>\\Documents\\FME')?

[The background is that my work notebook is set up in such a way that at least parts of my user data are stored on a network drive (besides the Documents folder, e.g. my Desktop folder is also stored on a network drive). Accessing files from this network drive is of course much slower than when the files are stored directly on the notebook's hard disk. When I start an FME translation, it always takes quite a long time until all preparations are finished and the actual run starts (can be easily tracked from the log messages). I suspect that this sluggishness is at least partly caused by the fact that at the start of the translation, the existence of these shared folders in the default location is checked (and that they are also created if necessary). ]