Question

How to get the hulls of neighboring buildings?

Hello,

I have a shapefile representing a neighborhood of a city. It contains 455 shapes with one shape per building. Each shape contains multipolygons corresponding to the building walls or little facade elements. Some buildings have common walls but their 3D points are not equal (typically 10 cm distance between them).

I would like to group the neighboring buildings and extract their hulls. In other terms, I would like to only keep the multipolygons that constitute the contours of the building blocks.

I am a beginner with FME and I have tried many transformes (geometry extractor, bufferer, dissolver, deaggregator, aggregator, hullreplacer) but I could not get what I want.

If you have any advice, that would be great!

Thank you!

10 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +25

Based on what your data looks like, I think Snapper and then Dissolver could work. Snapping would remove the gaps and then the Dissolver removes the common walls. Depending on your snapping tolerance the outside shape of the building block is not altered too much (whereas potentially the HullReplacer would introduce larger differences)

Badge +1

Do you have sample data? It should not be so difficult for what I read but need to see your data to fully understand? If you could send your workspace as a template ( you may need to change the source data to something smaller) I can look into it.

Thanks for the answers. I extracted a small part of the source data and I have saved my workspace as a template (see attached document).

I found a partial solution to my problem (Reader -> GeometryExtractor -> SurfaceFootPrintReplacer -> Dissolver -> ListConcatenator -> Writer). This provides me the building contours in 2D but ideally, I would like to retrieve the 3D model again. To do this, my idea is to compare the (x, y) coordinates of the input and the output. If they match, I keep the (x,y,z) coordinates of the input, otherwise I filter them out.