Question

Hi All, I am new to FME, I need to convert MapInfo TAB to DWG. I have a polygon file that has attributes and I want to write those polygons and attributes to the DWG file.

• 21 March 2022
  • 8 replies

The attributes should be visible in the AutoCAD properties dialog.

I have been able to write "extended attributes" that you can list with the XDLIST command in Autocad but I want to write attributes that are visible in the properties dialog in Autocad.

Capture 

Can anyone provide some advice on this or a sample. I think it must be simple but I am missing something???!

8 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +32

I think you want to write Object Data. You can to use the Autodesk AutoCAD Map 3D Object Data writer to write these attributes.

I don't believe that this is possible with MPolygon features in AutoCAD. You can try with predefined attribute blocks (from template AutoCAD file) which you can import using DWGStyler.

However, I am not sure if it is possible to apply this on polygons, I have only used it for point features.

If you implement that approach, just make sure that you match attribute names in AutoCAD Writer with these in predefined in Attribute Block.

DWGStylerAttributeBlock

I don't believe that this is possible with MPolygon features in AutoCAD. You can try with predefined attribute blocks (from template AutoCAD file) which you can import using DWGStyler.

However, I am not sure if it is possible to apply this on polygons, I have only used it for point features.

If you implement that approach, just make sure that you match attribute names in AutoCAD Writer with these in predefined in Attribute Block.

DWGStylerAttributeBlock

Thanks so much for the advice.

Are you able to provide a sample?

I am not a Autocad user and not sure how to create the template file to match.

Userlevel 6
Badge +32

All you need to do is to select the correct writer and assign the attributes.